Search help

In NZMuseums you can structure your searches to perform more complex searches or to refine your results. You can do this by using certain search equations. In the table below you can find search equations that enable you to organise your search terms to tailor your results.

Cup
By entering a single word as a search term, NZMuseums will search across all fields.
paint* NZMuseums will return results that have the term 'paint' as a root word, for example 'painter', 'painting'. The * character must follow the word.
cream~ NZMuseums will return results for terms that are close to the word 'cream', such as 'stream'. The ~ character must follow the word.
te?t NZMuseums will return search results for this term that are one letter out, for example 'test' or 'text'.
cup red
cup OR red
NZMuseums will find results that mention the word 'cup' or 'red' or both of these two terms in any field. If the word 'OR' is not included, then it is implied and NZMuseums will still search for one or both of the terms in any field. Using 'or' is the broadest possible search option for multiple terms. If included it must be in capitals.
+cup +red
cup AND red
NZMuseums will return search results that contain the term 'cup' and the term 'red' in any field. Using 'and' is a way to easily restrict or refine your search for multiple terms. It must be in capitals. Alternatively you can use a plus signs in front of each word.

cup -red
cup AND NOT red

eHive will return search results that contain the term 'cup ' and not the term 'red'. AND NOT is a way to exclude a term from your search, and must be in capitals. Alternatively you can use a minus sign.
"Pounamu Valley Sculpture Park" NZMuseums will search for the exact phrase within the quotation marks across all fields.
(greek AND vase) OR (roman AND vase) NZMuseums will return results that contain both 'greek' and 'vase' in the one record or both 'roman' and 'vase' in the one record.
(design OR art) AND german NZMuseums will return records that contain the term 'german' and must also contain 'design' or 'art' as well.
name:Eyre

NZMuseums will search within the field you specify before the colon (:), in this example it will search for the word 'Eyre' in the Name/Title field. The field name must be entered as its internal 'system' name, for example Name/Title becomes name. For a full list of these internal field names, see section below.

object_type:magazine -name:Jugendstil

object_type:magazine AND NOT name:Jugendstil

NZMuseums will return records that have 'magazine' in the Object Type field and don't have 'Jugendstil' in the Name/Title field.
name:"Pounamu Valley Sculpture Park" NZMuseums will search for the exact phrase 'Pounamu Valley Sculpture Park' in the Name/Title field.
name:"pounamu sculpture"-5 NZMuseums will return results that include these two terms within five positions of each other in the field you specify before the colon(:), in this case the Name/Title field.



Internal Field Names

Field name in NZMuseums/eHive Internal field name
Object Number object_number
Name/Title name
Medium Description medium_description
Credit Line credit_line
Detailed Information
web_public_description
Date Made date_made
Object Type object_type
Primary Creator/Maker primary_creator_maker
Primary Creator/Maker Role
primary_creator_maker_role
Place Made place_made
Subject and Association
subject_association_description
Named Collection named_collection

 

Results Views

Your search results are intially returned to you in a Lightbox View. This allows you to browse your results primarily by the images, along with a few key fields

There are other ways to view your results in list form. The Label View shows a larger image with an extended list of fields. Summary View allows you to see your results as a small thumbnail image and a summary made up of the key fields.The Detail View has the most detail and largest image display of your results views.

You can navigate these results views through using the links in the top right hand area of your screen.