HomeObject Detail

Auckland Aces State Championship team, 2004-05; Photosport; 2005; 2005.36.1

Auckland Aces State Championship team, 2004-05; Photosport; 2005; 2005.36.1
Auckland Aces State Championship team, 2004-05
About this object
The team photo of the 2004-05 Auckland side that won the State Championship.

Auckland and Wellington met in the final after finishing the season as the top two sides. After registering a 90-run first innings' lead, thanks to Andre Adams' 5 for 39 and Tama Canning's 106, Auckland went on to win by 7 wickets. In the second innings, Auckland's Kerry Walmsley claimed 5 for 94 while Richard Jones hit 114* to lead Auckland's chase. For Wellington, Mark Gillespie claimed 6 for 81 in Auckland's first innings. Northern Districts won 6, lost 1, drew 1 and had 1 no result during the season.

STANDING (L to R): Pip Sail (physio), Fred Thomas (manager), Paul Hitchcock, Keeley Todd, Gareth Shaw, Kerry Walmsley, Andy McKay, Rob Nicol, Mark O'Donnell (coach);
SEATED (L to R): Andre Adams, Tama Canning, Matt Horne, Brooke Walker (captain), Richard Jones, Aaron Barnes, Reece Young, Carl Cachopa;
ABSENT: Kyle Mills, Lou Vincent.

The State Championship was New Zealand's First Class competition while State were the sponsor and the Plunket Shield was in storage at the New Zealand Cricket Museum.

Maker Role
Date Made
276mm x 352mm
Auckland Cricket Association Collection
Credit Line
New Zealand Cricket Museum
Object Type
Object number
Copyright Licence Help
All rights reserved