HomeMuseum Detail

Raglan and District Museum

Our museum provides a window on local history for the Raglan Whaingaroa area and adjacent districts. It is open every day.

Displays are being progressively established and cover Maori history, early settler and town life history, farming, surfing, and photography. The museum is proud to hold the taiaha of Te Awaitaia, prominent Ngati Mahanga chief and Treaty of Waitangi signatory.

Much of the collection illustrates domestic, rural and town life in Raglan, mainly during the early twentieth century. Items of interest the first telephone exchange switchboard, the first surf life saving reel and an extensive collection of pharmacy items used by T. B. Hill, the town’s first chemist. There is an extensive photographic collection and many early copies of the town’s newspaper, The Raglan County Chronicle.

The Raglan Museum Society was established in 1966. The first accession was in April 1967, a wooden kitchen clock (Waterbury) over 100-years-old, from Mrs C. Gibbison of Raglan. In 1970 the museum was set up in the small left hand front room in the Raglan Town Hall, and from there it moved to the old fire station building in Wainui Road towards the end of 1982. This building was demolished in 2010 to make way for the new museum building.

Construction of the new building was completed and opened in 2011. The museum is open every day.

Collection Type
Art, History, Natural History, Science, Taonga Maori, Technology

Contact Details
Postal address icon15 Wainui Rd, Raglan 3265 Waikato
Telephone number icon+64 7 825 8925
Web address iconhttp://raglanmuseum.co.nz
Email address iconinfo@raglanmuseum.co.nz
Staff iconMuseum Society President, Ken Soanes Ph 07 825 6553
Facebook icon

Visitor Information
Physical address icon15 Wainui Road, Raglan, New Zealand
Hours of operation iconMonday to Sunday: 9.00am – 6.00 pm Closed: Christmas Day and the morning of ANZAC Day
Charges iconAdults $2, Children $1, Preschoolers Free

Wheelchair accessReference LibraryParkingShopMembership ClubToilets
Access to museum is via the Raglan iSite entrance to the Raglan Museum & Information Centre building.


Search Collection

Explore Collection

Entire Collection -View all (210)
Archives -View all (5)
Postcard; May 31st 1915PostcardPostcard; 19 March 1917PostcardPostcard; 1906
Library -View all (7)
Raglan County Chronicle / The Settler's Journal  ; Frank West Green; Friday, June 23, 1905; 1983.13.10cRaglan Chronicle Newspaper; October 2nd, 1903 ; 1983.13.10a Raglan County Chronicle Newspaper; 1983.13.10dRaglan County Chronicle Newspaper; 1983.13.10b Raglan County Chronicle  / The Settlers' Journal. / For the Homesteads of Raglan, Waikato, Waipa, and Kawhia Counties.; Walter Monckton Sanders; January 21, 1925; X001.51.146
Natural Science -View all (14)
Clam Shell, 1989.7.39Whale Tooth, 1969.45.1Bottle of Sands, 1989.19.1aStuffed Pheasant, X001.13.2Nautilus Shell; 1989.17.32
Photography and Multimedia -View all (61)
Photograph, Reverand Slade, William   Raglan  NZ, 1880's, X001.33.7Early Settlers at the Royal Hotel 1890-95; 1890-95; 1972.3.2aMrs Wallis, 1800's, 1969.15.22nd Harbour View Hotel, 1900's, X001.33.11M.E.Baker. General Storekeeper; circa 1920's; X001.53.3

Explore By Object Tags