HomeMuseum Detail

Howick Historical Village

Howick Historical Village is a living history museum in seven acres of grounds and gardens, and depicts a Fencible settlement in the period from 1840 to 1880. The Royal New Zealand Fencibles were pensioned-off British soldiers who came to New Zealand with wives and families, ready to protect the city of Auckland should it come under attack.

The collection at the Howick Historical Village ranges from art to furniture, textiles to archives and aims to show the period of early Auckland life between 1840-1880.

Living History is presented at the village with costumed staff and Live days every third Sunday of the month. On these days the village bustles with a working forge, cooking over open fires, forgotten crafts and actvities for the kids.

The Homestead Café onsite serves delicious food freshly made in their kitchens, and also caters for events and functions. A gift shop sells souvenirs and gift items, and the research library can be booked for research into fencible history.

The Village also includes period appropriate plants and planting schemes. The extensive grounds are filled with a wide range of garden styles of the period, with heritage plants and fruit trees. Certain buildings within the Village may also be used as venues for private functions. A wide range of programmes, tours and workshops are on offer for groups and schools.

There is free car parking - check the website for upcoming events.

Collection Type
History


Contact Details
Postal address iconHowick & Districts Historical Society Inc PO Box 38-105 Howick Auckland
Telephone number icon64-9-576 9506
Web address iconhttp://www.fencible.org.nz
Email address iconshop@fencible.org.nz
Staff iconCollections Darryl Pike; Education Sue Popping; Operations Team Leader Tracey Mulgrew; & Secretary Pam Taylor.


Visitor Information
Physical address iconCorner of Bell Road and Lady Marie Drive, Lloyd Elsmore Park, Pakuranga, Auckland, New Zealand
Hours of operation iconDaily 10AM to 5PM. Last admission at 4PM. Closed Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Good Friday & Anzac Day.
Charges iconCheck admission charges on website


Facilities
Wheelchair accessCafeReference LibraryParkingShopFunction SpaceGuided TourPublic ProgrammesMembership ClubToilets
Lecture Hall /Museum brochures /Tourist brochures / Special offers



-36.908257174.9021116


Search Collection

Explore Collection

Entire Collection -View all (884)
Archives -View all (223)
The Royal Crown Readers (First Book); Thomas Nelson and Sons; 1912; 2012.80.1Hannah Grigg's handwriting exercise book ; Collins Brothers & Co. Ltd; 2012.92.1Modern Geography of Australia, Tasmania and New Zealand ; William Collins, Sons and Company; 1876; 2012.79.1The Queen Infant Reader - Hannah Grigg; Thomas Nelson and Sons; 2012.86.1Postcard of KeriKeri; Frank Duncan & Co; 2012.20.1
Library -View all (9)
Aunt Margery's Maxims: Sunday Library For Young People; Sophia Tandy; 1888; 2010.104.4Little Folks: A Magazine for the Young.; C1885; 2010.104.5The Prize, 1896.; 1896; 2010.104.2Chatterbox, 1891; 1891; 2010.104.7Chatterbox, 1882; 1882; 2010.104.9
Photography and Multimedia -View all (325)
Fairlight, 1 Tanglewood Place, Howick.; 11093Star of the Sea Convent, Howick. C 1936.; C 1936; 11070Nicholas Homestead, Somerville Road, Howick. 
; c 1920; 11029

Explore By Object Tags